E’s car blanket

When my niece was born four years ago, I made a little car seat blankie for her.  It was 19×24 inches, and I used the two-color wave stitch from the Crochet Stitch Bible.

 

As she moved from an infant carrier to a car seat, she used it as a lap blanket in the car.  Well, last month she finally outgrew it.  My sister told me that E’s feet were sticking out the bottom of it, and asked me to make her a new one.  Of course I’m going to say yes!

E picked out the colors – blues, of course – and I got to work.

I tried to use the same pattern, but for some reason I just couldn’t get it to work.  After TWO DAYS of fiddling around with it and getting frustrated, I said fuck it and picked a whole new pattern.  I chose the Ribbon Afghan pattern by Olivia Rainsford.

It’s an easy pattern, and looks great with multiple colors of yarn.  It’s a great stash-buster pattern!

I tend to chain tightly, so I always make my chains with the next hook size up from the hook I’m actually going to use.  So for this project I chained 150+2 with an I hook, and then switched to an H hook for rest of the blanket.

E's car blanket 2

It came out 23×41 inches.  Long enough that she’ll hopefully be able to use it for quite a few years.

For the yarn, I used Impeccable Loops & Threads in Clear Blue and White, and Red Heart SS in Royal and Turqua.

Here’s a picture where you can better see the difference in color between the Clear Blue and the Turqua:

E's car blanket 3

Dixie deemed it warm enough for the small human.

I made the mistake of showing it to E before it was done, because I wanted to make sure it was going to be long enough.  After that, she kept asking when she was going to get her new blanket, and telling my sister that they needed to see me because E needed her new blanket, lol.  She was very happy and excited when I finished it and gave it to her.

 

Leave a Reply

