Yoga Mat bag

My niece recently started a kids yoga class, and my sister asked if I could make a bag for her yoga mat.  I’d already made one for myself, so I already had a pattern, so of course I said yes.

The pattern I used is one that I designed myself.  When I made my yoga mat bag, I could see in my head how I wanted it to look, but couldn’t find a pattern to match.  And none of the patterns that I did find really ‘spoke’ to me.  So I decided to try my hand at designing  my own.  Through a lot of trial and error, and frogging and restarting, I ended up with this!

yoga mat bag 2

I’m really proud of the drawstring top:

yoga mat bag 3

 

So when my sister asked me to make E a bag, I only had to dig out my mostly-written-down pattern and get to work.  I used cotton yarn that I already had on hand (more stashbusting!), and an H hook, and finished it in four days.  I think that might be a personal record, lol!

E's yoga mat bag 1

I used Lily Sugar and Cream cotton yarn in blues and white, and used up all of the blue I had.  Hooray!  Less yarn in the stash, lol!  My sis and niece love it, and it fits her mat – which is a bit thicker than mine, pictured – perfectly.

One thought on “Yoga Mat bag”

Leave a Reply

