I started a journal journal

This year I started a crochet journal.  I also started a travel journal (which I’ll probably post about at some point).  This month I started a journal journal.

Apparently, journaling is thing I do now.  I blame Pinterest.

Anyway.

I had a journal many many many many many years ago, when I was a much younger AmyLou.  I actually came across it recently as I was going through some boxes in the attic.  Oh, younger self.

I’ve always liked the idea of journaling, but the reality of what I thought it had to be – writing everyday, deep introspection, meaningful entries – was daunting and tedious.  Recently I realized that it doesn’t have to be anything but what I want it to be.

I know, duh, right?  Haha!

I’ve also been made aware – via Pinterest, of course – of Wreck This Journal by Keri Smith, and of a ton of journal prompts that have nothing to do with deep soul searching.  So I decided to collect a bunch and take another run at journaling.

journal 1

I decided not to invest in an expensive or fancy journal, but DIYed my own with a cheap sketchbook from Walmart and some scrapbook paper.  And when I say cheap, I mean it was $1 and some change.  The one I used is over by the office supplies, not the art supplies.  If anyone’s interested.

I removed the covers from the journal, and used some spray adhesive that I already had to affix the scrapbook paper to both sides of the front cover.  It wasn’t my intention to do it that way, but I screwed up which side of the front cover I sprayed, so I ended up having to do both sides.  Luckily, the scrapbook paper was a two-sided design so it all worked out in the end.  Happy accident, I suppose, haha.

journal 4

I feel like the cover page needs a bit ‘more’, but I’m not sure what yet.  I’m not an artist, so drawing something is out.  Maybe a little ‘about me’ thing?  Age and stuff?  Hm.  Suggestions?

journal 3

I collected prompts off of Pinterest, printed them out, cut them up, and tossed them in a jar.  It’s an old pickle jar, btw, with a spray painted lid.  On days I decide to journal, I’ll pull out a prompt at random and that’s what I’ll do.  The prompts are a mix of Wreck This Journal type prompts and regular, lighthearted, journal prompts.  I also plan to do some non-prompt entries as well.  I already have a couple planned.

journal 2

Washi tape and baker’s twine, because why not?

So far I’ve done three entries, and I’m really enjoying it.  Do any of you have a preferred journaling style?

 

Leave a Reply

