Travel journal

I mentioned my travel journal in an earlier post, so I thought I’d take a few moments to actually do a post about it.  For some reason, the journaling bug really dug into me this year;  it’s never really been an thing with me.  So this is my first travel journal.

As with the other journals I’ve mentioned I totally DIYed this one, starting with another super cheap sketchbook from Walmart.  This one, actually.  Some scrapbook paper and self-adhesive laminating sheets later and it looks like this:

tj 1

The ‘Pack Your Bags’ sticker was leftover from another project.  I printed out some travel-themed pictures from the internet and added them to the inside of the front cover and the first page, along with some washi tape and stamps.

tj 2

There’s an index on the next page, and I added a bookplate with my name and contact info to the inside of the back cover, just in case.

tj 3

You can see that there’s only a couple of trips listed so far.  There’s no restrictions as to what constitutes a trip, though, so day trips to nearby state parks?  Downtown Charlotte for the day?  Totally go in the book.  Places I dream of visiting?  Places I’ve been and long to revisit?  Favorite places to travel?  They’ll all go in the book.

This van that someone in the neighborhood had for sale, that was just made for an epic cross-country road trip?  Neither of which I can afford?  In the book.

tj 4

Wanting to travel, but having your bank account mock you?  In the book.

tj 5

I found this free printable map of the US on Pinterest, and had to add it to the journal.  I had to do a bit of fiddling to make it the right size to fit, but then I just cut it out, cut it in half, and pasted it onto the pages.  Then I took some colored pencils and colored in all the states that I’ve been to.  Also, I just had to add the dotted-line route and the little car.  🙂

tj 6

One day all the states will be filled in.  Also, can you tell I grew up in the central US? 🙂

I don’t travel as much as I used to, or as much as I’d like to, because, well, money.  But I’m going to travel as much as I can afford, and I’m going to fill at least one book.  No matter how long it takes.

One thought on “Travel journal”

Leave a Reply

