Evergreen blanket

A while ago when I organized my stash, I discovered that I had a TON of Caron Perfect Match in Evergreen.  I want to say it was something like seven skeins and balls of yarn, but I didn’t count.  I should have.

I don’t remember buying it, so it must have been given to me by someone cleaning out their own stash.  Years ago my mom (who also crochets) received a few bags of yarn from a co-worker, and I’m pretty sure the Caron came from that.

Over the summer I was looking for a simple project I could work on while marathoning season one of Supernatural, and remembered all that green yarn upstairs in the attic.  DING DING DING.  I wanted something easy that I didn’t really have to concentrate on, something mindless that I didn’t have to think about.

green-blanket-2

Back-loop only double-crochet to the rescue!

I didn’t have a set size I was working towards, I was just crocheting until the yarn ran out.  I didn’t even make of note of what my beginning chain was.  Oops!  Oh, well.  It ended up being 47 inches wide and 50 inches long.  Not a bad size at all.

green-blanket-1

I don’t really need another blanket – not that that’s ever stopped any of us before! – so from the beginning I was planning on donating this blanket somewhere.  Hopefully somewhere local, to someone or someplace that could really use it.

I finished the blanket at the end of September but before I could really figure out a place to donate it, Hurricane Matthew moved along the coasts of the Carolinas.  A woman I work with started collecting items for the flood victims, and that seemed like the perfect place for this blanket.  I live and work closer to the mountains in North Carolina than the coast, but I’d been on the Outer Banks – for the first time – just days before the hurricane.

Hopefully this blanket will bring some small comfort to someone who needs it.

1 thought on “Evergreen blanket”

Leave a Reply

